Board index Subtracting Fat

Subtracting Fat

Gaining weight instead of losing??

Questions and recipes related to The Slow Carb Diet and the supplements discussed in the book (PAGG)

Gaining weight instead of losing??

Postby psha85 » March 3rd, 2015, 3:14 pm

Hi,

Apologies in advance for this bit of a long post...

I've been doing 4HB since 2013 and had a lot of success with it. As of December 2014, I weighed 117 and my measurements were 33-26-36. I had stayed at those numbers pretty much most of the year.

When I went home for Christmas recently, I had about 7 days straight of eating carbs and sweets. I wasn't necessarily going out of my way to eat this stuff like I do on cheat days, but if we went to a restaurant I'd order a sandwich and if there was candy around I would eat it. I figured even if I gained a little bit of weight, I could easily lose it by doing 10 days straight of no cheating when I got back. I had done that the previous year and been back to near-normal weight within that 10 day period. I gained 5 lbs and 1 inch everywhere; 2 of those pounds seem to have been water weight tho.

In the 10 day period following my return, I only lost the 2 lbs of water weight, no more, and I didn't lose any inches. This continued for about a month actually, with very little progress (I only lost another 2 lbs in early February but looked no different). Out of frustration, I began trying to cut out certain things to see if it would make a difference. I tried going paleo for a couple weeks, no change. I tried limiting carbs for a couple weeks, no change. I even tried going easier on cheat days. So finally, I went back to 4HB (100% strict) and increased my exercise hoping that would do the trick. I'm doing maybe 2-3 days of cardio per week (elliptical for about 20 minutes, stationary bike for 10, and some walking here and there outside of the gym), and 3 days of ab/core exercises at home. I also added PAGG to see if that would help get me out of this plateau.